How do I delete untracked local files from the current working tree?
git-clean - Remove untracked files from the working tree
git clean [-d] [-f] [-i] [-n] [-q] [-e <pattern>] [-x | -X] [--] <path>…
Cleans the working tree by recursively removing files that are not under version control, starting from the current directory.
Normally, only files unknown to Git are removed, but if the
-xoption is specified, ignored files are also removed. This can, for example, be useful to remove all build products.
If any optional
<path>...arguments are given, only those paths are affected.
Step 1 is to show what will be deleted by using the
# Print out the list of files and directories which will be removed (dry run) git clean -n -d
Clean Step - beware: this will delete files:
# Delete the files from the repository git clean -f
- To remove directories, run
git clean -f -dor
git clean -fd
- To remove ignored files, run
git clean -f -Xor
git clean -fX
- To remove ignored and non-ignored files, run
git clean -f -xor
git clean -fx
Note the case difference on the
X for the two latter commands.
clean.requireForce is set to "true" (the default) in your configuration, one needs to specify
-f otherwise nothing will actually happen.
Again see the
git-clean docs for more information.
If the Git configuration variable clean.requireForce is not set to false, git clean will refuse to run unless given
Don’t use the standard ignore rules read from .gitignore (per directory) and
$GIT_DIR/info/exclude, but do still use the ignore rules given with
-eoptions. This allows removing all untracked files, including build products. This can be used (possibly in conjunction with git reset) to create a pristine working directory to test a clean build.
Remove only files ignored by Git. This may be useful to rebuild everything from scratch, but keep manually created files.
Don’t actually remove anything, just show what would be done.
Remove untracked directories in addition to untracked files. If an untracked directory is managed by a different Git repository, it is not removed by default. Use
-foption twice if you really want to remove such a directory.